top of page

23 Quotes from one of the greatest speeches ever

The following quotes are from Jim Carrey's Commencement Address at the 2014 MUM Graduation. The speech was filled with precious gems of wisdom longing to be captured in writing.

1) 'Like many of you I was concerned about going out into the world and doing something bigger than myself. Until someone smarter than myself made me realised that there is nothing bigger than myself.'

2) 'You are the vanguard of knowledge and consciousness, a new wave in a vast ocean of possibilities. On the other side of that door there is a world starving for new ideas, new leadership.'

3) 'Fear is going to be a part of your life, but you get to decide how much. You get to spend your whole life imagining ghosts; worrying about the pathway to the future, but all there will ever be is what is happening here, in the decisions we make in this moment, which are based in either love or fear. So many of us choose our path out of fear - disguised as practicality. What we really want seems impossibly out of reach and ridiculous to expect so we never dared ask the universe for it.'

4) 'You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.'

5) 'The purpose of my life had always been to free people from concern. And when I realised this, I dubbed my new devotion: The Church of Freedom From Concern (The Church of FFC). And I dedicated myself to that ministry. What’s yours? How will you serve the world? What do they need that your talent can provide? That’s all that you have to figure out…the effect you have on others is the most valuable currency there is.'

6) 'Everything you gain in life will rot and fall apart and all that will be left of you is what was in your heart.'

7) 'My choosing to free people from concern got me to the top of a mountain. I did something that made people present their best selves to me wherever I go.'

8) 'That we are after, lies somewhere beyond personality, beyond the perception of others, beyond invention and disguise, even beyond effort itself. You can join the game, fight the wars, play with form all you want but to find real peace you have to let the armor go.'

9) 'Your need for acceptance can make you invisible in this world.'

10) 'Don’t let anything stand in the way of the light that shines through this form.'

11) 'Risk being seen in all of your glory.'

12) 'Painting is one of the ways I free myself from concern, a way to stop the world through total mental, spiritual and physical involvement. But even with that comes a feeling of divine dissatisfaction because ultimately we are not the avatars we create. We’re not the pictures on the film stock. We are the light that shines through. All else is just smoke and mirrors, distracting but not truly compelling.'

13) 'I wish people could realize all their dreams in wealth and fame so that they could see that it’s not where you are going to find your sense of completion.'

14) 'Beware, the unloved, for they will eventually hurt themselves or me.'

15) 'My Soul is not contained within the limits of my body. My body is contained within the limitlessness of my Soul. One unified field! One unified field of nothing dancing for no particular reason, except maybe to comfort and entertain itself.'

16) 'As that shift happens in you, you won’t be feeling the world, you will be felt by it, you’ll be embraced by it.'

17) 'Now, I’m always at the beginning. I have a reset button. And I ride that button constantly. Once that button is functioning in your life there’s no story that the mind can create that can be as compelling. Imagination is always manufacturing scenarios both good and bad and the ego tries to keep you trapped in the multi-plex of the mind.'

18) 'Our eyes are not viewers; they’re also projectors that are running a second story over the picture that we see in front of us all the time. Fear is writing that script and the working title is “I’ll never be enough”.'

19) 'If you listen to it (the ego) there will always be someone who is better than you. No matter what you gain, ego will not let you rest. It will tell you that you cannot stop until you’ve left an indelible mark on the earth, until you have achieved immortality. How tricky is this ego that it would tempt us with a promise of something we already possess.'

20) 'It’s just about letting the universe know what you want and working toward it while letting go of how it comes to pass.'

21) 'Your job is not to figure out how it (what you want) is going to happen for you but to open the door in your head and when the door opens in real life just walk through it. And don’t worry if you miss your cue because there are always doors opening. They keep opening and when I say life doesn’t happen to you, it happens for you, I really don’t know if that is true. I am just making a conscious choice to perceive challenges as something beneficial so that I can deal with them in the most productive way.'

22) 'Take a chance on faith, not religion, but faith, not hope, but faith. I don’t believe in hope. Hope is a beggar. Hope walks through the fire and faith leaps over it.'

23) 'You only ever have two choices: Love or Fear. Choose Love and don’t ever let fear turn you against your playful heart.'


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page